The laudable warrior….!!!


yuppieee… review of Veer –  the love story of a warrior 😛

Kanha thumri –  Rekha bharadwaj, Shabab Sabri, Toshi and Sharib –  Remember namak isq ka from Omkara… Rekha bharadwaj is back with a soul stirring number on Kanha.. its been a long time since we’ve had a typical classical basednumber in our movies.. last I remember was devdas with its Dhai Shaam rok layi.. so classical fans rejoice.. and yes Rekha has done complete justice to this song.. couldn’t imagine a better person to sing this number… it reminded me of yesteryears Umrao Jaan… CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Meherbaniyaan Sonu Nigam – With Sonu crooning do you need any reason to listen to this song…?? I guess not.. a wonderful number I must say.. though I did have my doubts wondering whats a periodic movie doin with a song like this.. this is  a shockingly  peppier number considering that the film is based in the pre-independence era and boasts of it being a love story of a warrior… and then a fast paced groovy number like this… Im def curious… very curious.. 😉 but yes must say ita nice song… its cute typical sonu-ish number… music such that it has u nodding and shakin ur head alongwith thte beats… ahh yes the beats it started with a feeling of being reminiscent of All I wanna is that they don’t realy care about us… or the later recent Boys number based on the same beats of Break the Rules…but in the paragraph areas it reminded me of Khambe Jaisi Khadi hai… I hope you remember that one… how can one even forget a Amir and madhuri movie :D… yes but none theless I still stand by what I say … CERTIFIED LISTENABLE..

Surili Aankhon Wale raahat Fateh Ali Khan, Sunidhi ChauhAn and Suzanne Demello –  this according to me is one of the best numbers in this movie… its nice soft lilting melodious number… the inclusion of English lyrics and western interludes remind me of O re Chore from lagan… and Raahat Fateh Ali at his best after Paap… if I’ve ever loved any song of Raahat it was Mann ki Lagan from Paap.. and this one is def on par with that…infact better than paap I shud say… a soulful ballad-ish number only I wish it had been a solo by raahat Fateh ali.. he is simply a delight to listen to… I am simply out of words to explain what this song is… so you guys just get a listen and let me know how you found it.. to me it’s a CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN.

Taali(Solo) Sukhwinder Singh –  this is a folksy fast number… a typical Sukhwinder-ish number… with a lot of old world hindi lyrics… this is fast sprightly number, the music does comprise a few war-cry-ish feel to it too.. its an okay-ish number to listen to.. nothing too exceptional  about… Sukhwinder sounds monotonous.. the Music Directors have exploited his talent much… just a few high pitched notes nothing great about it… sounds similar to most of Sukhwinder number… only I found the music a lil different and nice… its reminds me of a raga which I have heard but not able to place my finger on it.. its just an okie dokie number..it has certain influences of Baar Baar haan from Lagaan …CERTIFIED MISSABLE SONG

Salaam Aaya –  Roop Kumar rathod, Shreya Ghosal and Suzzanne DeMello – this has already been aired on most music channels and promos so I guess most of you have already heard it… its nice feel good number… it’s a nice one to listen to a couple of times.. after a few listens you tend to lose interest in it.. unlike Surili Ankhiyon Waale song..  so this is not as impressive as it seems for the first few times… Roop Kumar and Shreya perfect justice to the song.. Roop kumar sounds as if he’s tickling you with a feather on your face.. something like the sensuous scene of Mughal E Azam where Dilip Kumar brushes the feather lightly on MadhuBala’s face…yep that’s how the Song sounds… a nice feel good cute song.. Shreya as usual.. I don’t need to say anything about her at all.. CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Surili Ankhon waleRaahat Fateh Ali and Suzanne DeMello–  Looks like Sajid Wajid  heard what I wrote when I heard this song’s earlier version.. you just cant get enough of this song…its just soooooooo fantaboulastically splendid..i’m so in love with this song.. esp this particular version…Rahat is simply amazing… err..ok if you think im exaggerating you can def listen to it and then prove me wrong 😉 CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Taali Sukhwinder,Raahat Fateh Ali Khan, Wajid and neuman Pinto – Ok if that was a solo version by just Sukhwinder this one has 4 singers singing the same song…the same effect nothing much different with this version… errr… to me this version of the song was pretty much or rather I would say for this song.. any one version was pretty sufficient … I think the other version has been added only to steer clear of the remixing of any songs.. yup one album with no remixes.. I;m happy about that but why this version 😦  MISSABLE NUMBER

Spirit of Veer –  this is an instrumental piece.. and no it does not have any soul stirring slow number.. like the usual spirit or theme songs.. this is a quick hippy heppy piece with ample use of the bag piper kinda tune,m whistles and a typical western influenced piece ala the Tap Dance sequence in Titanic.. something similar to that.. nice one.. a different kinda theme for a movie..

Final Verdict..

Overall the album is just about OK.. considering the number of MUST LISTENS & LISTENABLES  that I have given  I would give the over all album a 4/5…Cos except for the Taali piece and its version all the others are pretty much good numbers… I would suggest you listen or download only the Certified MUST LISTEN numbers… the others are pretty much worth a miss…a much required kudos to Sajid Wajid for the effort put in for the songs.. Except for Taali I would say the album is pretty complete… I wish they had either down away with the Talli number on the whole or atleast made that as a better number.. Sigh.. nonetheless the other songs are definitely superb.. Regardless of the fate of the movie, I must say the songs are absolutely a delight to listen to … Surili Ankhon wale ROCKS.. to me it’s the best number in the move… followed by Salaam and Kanha…

Do listen to the songs.. 😀

Leave a Reply

