Khan~Dont Impress Me Much…!!


After hearing a superfab album like Ishqiya.. MNIK kinda falls flat..

SPlaattchhh..!!! On the face with a big bloody nose..!!!

With all due respect to shankar Ehsaan Loy… and Kjo and Shahrukh and Kajol.. but this album is not nothing great to talk about…

Shankar-Ehsaan-Loy have given us superb numbers before..We’ve had some awesome songs churned out by this trio..  But they seem to be getting stuck in a rut… The numbers are reminiscent of their previous songs..  Simply put this album lacks opulence… This is not something you would expect from the SEL gang… I mean cmon these are the same people who gave us Rock On… who gave us WUS.. Who gave us  KHNH, KANK and many others.. But this album falls flat on the face.. Nothing great to offer..

I would give it just a 2/5 which is being generous cos bearing a couple of songs like  Allah E Rehem(which again is reminiscent of the Veer Zaara song) and Sajda(which sounds like the only original number) there’s nothing great to talk about…

Sigh..!! Anyways as usual here’s the detailed analysis

~~

Alaah hi rehem – Sufi number simply marvelous.. I remember when I did the Kurbaan review some people commented saying Sufi numbers are generally a class apart esp those number that have Allah, Maula and Ali in them… and this song just proves it right .. though it is reminiscent of the Qawwali number from Veer Zaara this one is one of the best this album has to offer… CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Khan Theme – nice lilting music.. Though it reminds me a wee bit of the background music we had in K3G when Hrithik was hunting down SRK – nice one but.. MISSABLE

Noor e khuda – pleasant number.. Though it has some slight influence of Mitwa meets Mission Kashmir (oh! Remember the starting of Ring Poshmal – Jahaan Zarra zarra mehekega..blah blah blah) 😛 with Adnan’s impeccable rendition.. This is a lovely number… but somehow that don’t impress me much.. Maybe I gotta listen it…there are some songs that take time to grow on you.. They slowly make you like them as u listen to them a couple of times… I’m sure this is gonna be one of those that might climb the charts soon.. And Shreya is the cherry topping on this slurpilcioous cake 😀 CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Rang de – reminiscent of WAKE UP SID.. In more than many places.. The title song of WUS.. Very very reminiscent and yes since I liked that I like this one too 😛 so it’s a nice listen… CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Sajda – bloody brill number this one is.. No wonder KJO released this one first.. This is superfantasmashingbulous.. And Raahat Fateh Ali is as usual a complete delight to listen.. This is one number definitely not missable 😀 CERTIFIED MUST MUST LISTEN

Tere Naina – another sufiyaana feel… the song is a nice soft number.. The starting reminds me of that song from Veer Zaara which never made it to the movie and was even discarded from the album I guess (Tum paas aa rahe ho – it was a ghazal).. this sounds a tad Qawwali-ish also.. it’s a nice feel good song.. but nothing great.. Nothing out of the world..sigh..!! CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

~~

Overall I would say the album is just about ok.. nothing great like their previous albums.. seems to me SEL’s losing touch..!! Oh ! please don’t let that happen guys I love your music.. cmon please get back with a bang.. give us some lovely zabrakoo numbers to cherish..

The Album doesn’t even live upto the hype that the movie has created.. pretty lackluster I must say..I expected SEL and KJo to give us better songs..ouCH..!!! I know all true blue KJo, SRK, SEL and Kajol fans are gonna stare daggers at me… but trust me I love them all..I’m someone who has watched K3g umpteen times and still love it..I’m someone who has watched DDLJ atleast once a day for 50 days when the movie released… I have listened to the songs of SEL as if they are my daily prayers.. And yet I dint feel this album was anything great.. Sorry Guys..!! But THAT DON’T IMPRESS ME MUCH..!!

One thought on “Khan~Dont Impress Me Much…!!

  1. Hi Meg!
    Thanks for stopping by our blog to leave your opinion on our MNIK review. We really enjoyed reading yours too.

    I like the way you give the lowdown on each song and definitely agree that this album seems a bit like betting on an old formula: sufi feel, romantic pop, lots of tablas…

    I hope you will visit us often, we’ll come back to read you too for sure.

    Cheers!

    http://hindicinenglish.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

