Duo Rhyme~Fun Time


This time I decided to plunge into something different..

I usually do write poems…and generally I have seen that at times it just takes me like seconds to compose one.. with simple words and simple rhyme-scheme..

My typical rhyme scheme follows either the abab or abcb or aabb format..

So this Thursday as I was sitting vela at my office..

Oh yes the whole of my Chennai/banglore/Hyderabad offices were shut for Pongal/Makar Sankranthi.. while my darling Mumbai Branch decided to bore me to death…

So then.. me being me embarked on a journey to spice up and spruce my blog

(YO.! Me creative me..)

This is what I came across and below is my rendition on the same 😉

Duo-rhyme

The Duo-rhyme, a poetic form created by Mary L. Ports, is a 10 or 12-line poem, with the first two

and last two lines having the same rhyme scheme, and the center of the poem (lines #3 through #8 or #10)

having their own separate monorhyme scheme.

Meter: 8 beats per line, written in iambic tetrameter (4 linear feet of iambic)

Rhyme Scheme: 10-line: a,a,b,b,b,b,b,b,a,a and 12-line: a,a,b,b,b,b,b,b,b,b,a,a

So here’s my try at the same  

~~~~~

Looking at the moon

Makes me swoon

Wish he was here

With me so near

On a night so clear

Oh! Drops a silent tear

Losing him I fear

Oh cmon don’t jeer

I haven’t seen him in a year

And yet my love for him is sincere

Aah..!! The distance makes me croon

Oh! My Darling, do come soon

~~~~~~

Yaaayyyy…!!! That’s a swell attempt…!!!

Especially when you just start one line and end up seeing that ev erything else seems to just fall into place.. like pieces in a jigsaw puzzle

And ALL UNDER 5MINS…

Yepppppiiiieee… this poem was composed under 5Mins..

On hindsight im amazed indeed..

I knew I was insane.. but this insane..

Maannn…that’s a shocker to me itself  😯

So temme how you found this..

Yippppee… me is loving it 😀

So guys pull up your rhyming socks and get poetic cmon this aint that tough 😀

Meanwhile I get cracking at more greener pastures..errr… poetic pastures 😉

So here’s me signing off from Megzone…!!!

Keep Smiling..!! Keep Rocking..!! Keep Blogging..!!

Cheerios…!!!  

16 thoughts on “Duo Rhyme~Fun Time

    • Shaahidddd…..
      yiippeee…!!!
      Shahid Kapoor ka hai muje bade betaabi se intezaar
      karti hoon unse bepanaah pyaar
      haaye naajane kab kar paaoongi ikraar
      koi jaake bataye usse karna sakungi main izhaar

      kkiieekkiieekkiiee :mrgreen:

  1. i don’t believe ki tum izhaar nai kar paogi….see that’s why i call you talented….this piece in 5 mins….

    i need atleast…a day…to come up with something ever remotely close to this one…..i used to copy lines from english songs which no one ever heard off….. 🙂

    but you are doing good…..vellagiri karne se toh better hai…..poem’s likho…\,,,/

    • //i don’t believe ki tum izhaar nai kar paogi….// kar tho doon.. par janaab mile tho 😉

      //.see that’s why i call you talented….this piece in 5 mins….// kabhi kabhaaar flow mein aa jaata hai 😛

      //i need atleast…a day…to come up with something ever remotely close to this one…// areeee shuru tho karo..dekho pakka aa jayega 🙂
      nothin is impossible mere dost 🙂

      //i used to copy lines from english songs which no one ever heard off….//
      aillaaa cheating… :mrgreen:

      //vellagiri karne se toh better hai…..poem’s likho…\,,,///
      yaaayyy….. high five on that 🙂

  2. RoH says:

    Wow Megsiii!!! This one is simple and cool!!! loved the theme 😀
    Wait a minute!!! Did you say 5 mins??? o_O toingggggggggggggggggggggggggg!!! Brilliant!!! 🙂

    Me can give it a try… 🙂 but can’t beat your 5 mins record 😉 😀

    • //Wow Megsiii!!! This one is simple and cool!!! loved the theme //
      yaaayy….thanks 😀

      //toingggggggggggggggggggggggggg!!! Brilliant!!!//
      high five /”

      //Me can give it a try… but can’t beat your 5 mins record//
      please do madamee…
      oi u still havent given me ur blog u dodo 😛

  3. Garfy Boy says:

    Hayee, kiska hian ye tumko intezaar main hoon na 😛 😉

    Nice one! btw you should do masters in literature. So many styles and writing with so many rules. shape poetry then 55 words den this. BTW, one thing i dont understand, why to make thing so complicated by putting these many rules. There should be only one rule, padhne me acha lagna chahiye 🙂
    Waise this is nice poem haan 🙂

    • //Hayee, kiska hian ye tumko intezaar main hoon na //
      oi nautanki 😛
      kkiieekkiieekkiiee :mrgreen:

      //btw you should do masters in literature.//
      areeeee usme shakespeare padhate hai 😛 poetry nahiieee 😉
      heeheehee 😀

      //There should be only one rule, padhne me acha lagna chahiye //
      oi tu jab poem likhega tho aisa hi rule banana 😈
      kkiieekkiieekkiiee :mrgreen:

  4. Khoool!!!

    5 mins and such rhyming poem!!!
    Beautiful ya..

    “Looking at the moon
    Makes me swoon”

    Specially loved these lines…as I always feel that way:)

    • //Khoool!!!

      5 mins and such rhyming poem!!!
      Beautiful ya..//
      wooowww…thank you so much Deepa 😀
      glad you liked it 🙂

      //Specially loved these lines…as I always feel that way:)//
      hey me too 😀
      same pinch 😉

Leave a Reply

