Ithu Allavo Sugam ~ This is what’s Bliss..!!!


When I knew this was coming up I had many expectations.. when I heard the demos on Facebook.. the expectations only multiplied a gazillion times.. and were they met???

Aye aye it does.. J Awright enough beating around the bush.. This is Ranam Sugam I am talking about… 😀

Ranam Sugam is a musical novelette by Paadhai a band comprising of Siva, Suresh and Shammeer..

My thoughts on the album.. Loved it CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN.. Rating 3.75/5

Why not more you might ask esp when I loved it… cos there are 1-2 tracks that I may not wanna listen again and again.. my personal fave being Ranam kuda Sugam than aaahhh I can keep listening to it again and again… followed by Nilavum thoongalaam…, Yaar ival and Veyil Mazhai..

The only downside was too many tragic songs and most importantly the beats somehow sounded repetitive… I couldn’t see much variety in the songs, they all sounded kinda alike to me (being brutally honest..) the album seems to maintain the same mood and effect.. When I listen to an album esp not a movie one.. I would like to see some variety like love, pathos, hatred, passion everything.. c’mon 10 songs… ok one was theme so 9 songs… err… 1 was remix so 8 songs… wish the 8 songs had picked up one mood each J that would have made It perfect…. 🙂

I know tragedy sells.. I know tragedy enters the heart and plays with the heart strings leaving an effect behind.. But then let’s not keep the whole mood of the album as tragedy 😦 that takes out a certain charm away from it 🙂

But overall one swellll ALBUM… Looking forward to More of Paadhai 🙂

Now for the detailed analysis—

~~~~~~~~~

Yaar aval ~ it’s an Awesome mindblasting song.. The moment it starts I feel myself nodding my head.. Tapping my feet..Closing my eyes and lost in the song.. This is one of the best songs in the album and also one of my personal favorites.. The rap effect in the song gives me Kulir 100 degrees kinda feel to it.. Wonder if I may be wrong too.. But somehow just felt so..The music is awesome… ample usage of the violin-ish effect… CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

En nanbane ~ nice feel this one where the female singer sounds a tad like Bombay Jayshree… When u close your eyes and try to lose yourself in the song.. you might end up feeling this is another of Gautam Menon’s movie songs with Harris Jeyraj as the music director and Bombay Jayshree as the singer J the use of Indian classical instruments does leave me with a feeling of Kannalane (Kehna hi kya) from the Mani Ratnam movie Bombay..Though this is one song that seems to come across as a potpourri of many others,  if I were someone naïve to Indian music and film music, I may fall in love with this one instantaneously.. Oh well, as a matter of fact I still love it 🙂 CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Thedi ~ this is again one of those songs that have the Kulir effect to it.. Or maybe something is really really wrong with me.. 🙄 The addition of Rap does enhance the song but the pathos reflected in it is blatantly visible… CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Nilavum Thoongalam ~ THIS is the BESTESTESTEST SONG in the album… I simply fell in love with it when I heard the demo.. And was feverishly looking forward to this one 🙂 I am glad to conclude that it dint disappoint me one bit…yaayy… the moment I heard this I was fully, completely, sincerely, awesomely in love with it….. The yearning heart seeks solace in someone’s arms.. No no that’s not the lyrics… that’s the effect I get when I hear the song… Awwww the mush-o-meter is on a full time high.. The song somehow gives the effect as If a light feather was caressing your soul.. This one’s a definitely must must listen…I highly recommend this one.. CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Veyil Mazhai ~ this is again a lovely track.. The initial aalaap-ish humming by the female singer again gives the Bombay Jayshree effect.. I love her voice.. Err.. Not BJ you sillies I love her obviously but this female singer too 😀 though she sounded like BJ in the start, as the song proceeded she sounded a tad like saindhavi.. This one’s a love song complete with words that leave you speechless and spellbound…but somehow a wee bit of pathos and yearning did seem to have crept into this song.. Or is it just me 🙄

Overall I loved the effect of this song…a perfect background music for those long evening walks by the beach, finger entwined…aaww CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Paathiyil vilaguvathu ~ I am not even sure if this can be classified as a song.. It has more dialogues then even lyrics.. More like rants by a group of no-good-losers or should I reword that and say Rants by a group of Loved-and-lost… baahhhh.. That don’t impress me much… too much pathos I say.. 😐

After listening to the previous songs this one’s certainly not what I expect..But I do know the actual majnu’s and devdas might actually love this.. But for me it’s definitely CERTIFIED MISSABLE

Ranam Sugam ~ oh maannn.. This is surely gonna make you guys fall in love with it.. Yes this is THE BEST SONG in the album… I have simply fallen in love with this one.. When I heard Nilavum thoongalaam I thought that was the best.. But maann.. This one over-rules that one too 🙂 this is one of those songs that is perfect for those late-night lonely long drives..If I were to picturise this song for a movie or even for the album.. The video would include a guy on his bike/car driving at full speed in a frenzy, his tempers and passions both raging an eternal fight in the mind… CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Vaarthai Thavarivittai ~ this is one bloody brilliant of a song.. The opening lines give a Barathiyar effect.. Maybe that’s cos of the use of the word Kannamma.. This one’s another sorrow filled track..But if the previous one was tragedy this is the King of tragedies.. 😥  The singer’s voice is sure to instill some old memories if you have one and is sure to make an impact on you… the lyrics are so beautiful that they are cherry on the cake J CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Ranam Sugam (Remix) ~ trusts me if the original was good the remix is no less… I somehow can’t seem to get over this song… this one has to be the best 🙂 the song starts upbeat but the anguish is clearly etched all over out… the lyrics, the singer, the song overall definitely leave a mark in your mind.. MY PERSONAL FAVE in this album… the lines ranam kuda ranam kuda sugam thaan are pacy and hence catchy and addictive… even after the song is over I end up humming those lines again and again… I had got so addicted to the song that even when I was not listening to any music – mind you any music at all I could feel this song running in my mind… I think after listening to this surely I’m gonna end up feeling pain is good 🙂 CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Ranangal mudivathillai ~ this is again another grief filled song.. Only music No lyrics.. And makes up for something like the theme of the album… Certain parts in the music is definitely commendable… love this one… perfect to be your ringtone… CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

~~~~~~~~~~~~

After listening to the whole album.. as I said the songs that stand out are definitely Ranam Sugam, Nilavum Thoongalaam and Yaar Ival..

Just for the title track, which I loved sooooooo much I am gonna be a tad partial and give the album a 4/5 Yes I changed my rating.. but well.. my review meri marzi.. 😛

The Album is currently available at

– cafe tapas, 47b velachery main road, velachery, chennai
– coming soon in conneXions outlets

It is also available for purchase online from their site www.ranamsugam.com

You could also join their Facebook page Ranam Sugam for regular updates and details..

As for me I am still humming Ranam Kuda Sugam Thaann… 🙂

And YES GUYS PLEASE GO GET YOUR COPIES I AM SURE YOU WONT REGRET…

As for PAADHAI.. guys looking forward to more from you… Keep Rocking..!!! 🙂

That’s it from MEGZONE for now..

Keep Smiling..!! Keep Rocking..!! Keep Blogging…!!!

Cheerios..!!! :mrgreen:

10 thoughts on “Ithu Allavo Sugam ~ This is what’s Bliss..!!!

  1. Awesome Tigrrr!! Loved the honest review…not as brutal as I feared! 😉 Feared yes, after you are like that Masand fellow on IBN…sorta, and female version ofcourse! 😛

    • chuppee… female masand bana diyaa mujhe..? 😡

      honest tho main hoon.. i wrote wat i felt.. esp wen it comes to reviews 😀
      no pretense no diplomacy 😀
      thats me 😀

  2. Maine do teen hi sune hai
    samjh nai aaye 😀
    but loved the music of what so ever i heard 😀
    yet to get the CD
    and ekdam honest review,,,,, mastttttttt 😀
    Aisa hi review Shahid ki movies ka bhi kiya kar 😛

    • areeeeee… mast hai re gaanee…
      kaash ke tu samajh paati…
      tho aur enjoy karti….
      waise music has no barriers so u can still enjoy it..
      oi shahid ke movies ke bhi main honest reviews deti hoon 😀

  3. Jayanth says:

    Hi,
    i am a silent spectator of ur blogs.. nice review… u know one of the guy suresh is from cognizant and good friend of mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

