Once Upon A Time In Mumbaaii..


Ok I am indeed aware that I am indeed super-late for the review.. But with tooooo many things on my hands this was bound to happen 😀

But heyyy I aint complaining cos I like it when I have my hand full..

Anyways back to the review..

When you know it an Emran Hashmi movie you know for sure that the songs are gonna be good simply cos that bugger is somehow lucky with songs.. And all his movies till date have had at least one superdupersplendiferous song.. 😀

When you see names of singers like Mohit Chauhan, Raahat Fateh Ali Khan, Karthik and KK you are sure the album promises to be something 🙂  But when u see the music director name as PRITAM.. You are 😯

Cos u don’t know if the authenticity of the music can be trusted or no.. 🙄

But nonetheless the positives (emran, mohit, rahat, KK, karthik) over shadow the big villain pritam and OUATIM delivers the best  of sufiyaana music that can be cherished for quite some time..

I am sure if I am to listen the album after a couple of years I am still gonna love them… Highlights of the album would be Mohit’s Pee Loon which has already become everyone’s favorite, Raahat bhai’s Tum jo Aa gaye , KK and karthik’s I am in love 😀

There’s also a Mika song thrown in a typical bhaigiri types 😛 Baburao mast hai.. Well I must say though this might be one of the lesser priorities in this album but trust me the song is cute.. 😀

And there’s also a 70-80s style cabaret number reworked on thePiya Tu Ab Tho aaja and duniya mein logon ko” that’s a good listen too 😀

Overall a good Album- 7/9 songs are good 🙂 So definitely CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

ATLEAST the songs by Raahat, Mohit , KK and Karthik.. If not the remix/reprise version the originals at least are more than enough to make it a definite listen

I rate it a 4/5

Can’t help it guys I have all my favorite singers there.. 😀

Pee loon ~ Mohit Chauhan – just one word to describe this song – AWESOME.. The moment the aalaap starts you are swayed completely.. All I feel like doing is close my eyes and let the song flow over me.. It’s simply THE BEST song in the album.. The Sufiyaana effect is simply mindblasting.. Mohit excels once again.. The lyrics are definitely noteworthy.. The chorus lines are catchy and tend to stay in Ur mind eons after the song is over.. CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

Tum Jo Aaye ~ Tulsi Kumar, Rahat Fateh Ali Khan – it opens in a typical qawwali-ish lines.. Tulsi Kumar has indeed improved a lot on her singing.. She doesn’t sound too shrill like she used too.. Infact at some places I found her reminiscent to Chitra… Rahat bhai as usual excels and we have a winner song once again.. Albeit I prefer the Reprise version more cos that’s a solo 😉 Sowweee Tulsi can’t help it M a Rahat fan 😀 the lyrics are good a tad clichéd but nice.. The places where Rahat bhai does his swarams are beautiful cos he reminded me so much of Nusrat ji.. CERTIFIED LISTENABLE only cos this is not solo 😉

Babu Rao ~ Mika – If you have liked tapori songs of Munnabhai and Shootout at Lokhandwala you are sure to like this… If you don’t mind Mika then you can like the song.. Cos frankly I did like it.. I wouldn’t say I loved it but yes it’s definitely listenable.. For those moments when you just want to dance Ur blues away and feel the need to add some spunk to your usual music you surely need this one..The lyrics are typical complete with the mumbaiyya slang.. liberal use of English too like adjust” “word” “system etc etc.. CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

I Am In Love ~ KK & Dominique –  KK strikes back.. He has been one singer I have always liked since he gave us Tadap Tadapke (Hum Dil De Chuke Sanam).. And I end up liking 99% of his songs and yes definitely I like this one too.. Albeit I would say that Karthik’s version is definitely one up on this… But with KK you just can’t ignore him.. The lyrics are the same so I save it for the Karthik version 😉 as for this one CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN..

Pee Loon(Remix)Mohit – if you liked the original you are sure to like this J Yes indeed, just a bit fast paced but overall the song is simply out of the world.. There was a day when the moment I laid my hands on this album I was just hooked on to this song and kept playing it again n again.. It’s definitely addictive… Though I am generally against remix but this one doesn’t sound like one in spite of claiming that it is a remix.. So for me this one’s CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN.

I Am In Love ~ Karthik – for the first time when I heard this I dint realize it was Karthik singing albeit I did feel the voice very very familiar.. and then came this place where he sings in complete base and that’s when it hit me “is that Karthik” and yes I checked it then and I was dumbstruck this was indeed Karthik and the best part I love is that not one ounce of accent or anything for that matter… A simply marvelous song… not much of a Sufi effect but definitely a lovely song.. the lyrics are really sweet, minimalist esp the second Para which goes like – badal par chalta hoon main,girke sambhalta hoon main, khwahishe karta hoon main khone se darta hoon main, jaaga na soya hoon main , musafir khoya hoon main, kuch sarphira sa hoon main buddhu zara sa hoon main, dil kyaa karein tere bina itna bas mujhe pat ahai,.. I am in love.. Aaahhh.. I reveled in this song completely.. CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN..

Parda ~ sunidhi Chauhan, Rana Mazumdar – this is the perfect Cabaret effect from the 70s and 80s.. A rehash of RDB’s Piya Tu Ab Tho Aaja and Duniya mein Logon ko .. No it’s not the remix or anything.. It’s completely redone or rather it would be more appropriate to say that they have actually incorporated some parts of the RDB song to this one.. Perfect with the RDB effect this is definitely a good song.. I wouldn’t commit and say that its one of those dance numbers I would pick up to dance but then I definitely can’t ignore it too.. It’s an ok song.. Sunidhi has definitely sung it to the best.. But I somehow only wish if they had brought in Asha Tai to sing this that would be a Sone pe suhaaga 😀 CERTIFIED LISTENABLE

Tum Jo Aaye (reprise) ~ Raahat Fateh Ali Khan – What do I say now..?? COMPLETE BLISS..!!!! With Raahat bhai crooning, his breathtaking aalaps, swaras,..Uff by God.. I’m addicted.. 😀  Comparatively minimalist on the music front, and sigh..!! I don’t have words to describe this one.. Simply no words.. Cos its Raahat bhai I don’t need any further reasons to fall in love with this song.. Lemme concentrate on the lyrics in this one 🙂 The lyrics are simply beautiful , picture this – Ishq mazhab ishq meri zaat ban gayi.. Sapne Teri chahto ke dekhta hoon ab kayi..Din hai sona aur chandi raat ban gayi.. Mindblasting..!! The sheer use of Urdu makes me love it even more.. Aisa main saudaayi huaa dhadkane bhi apni tho lagti hai Teri ahaate maangi  Na khudaayi Maine maanga naa rawaan bhi maangli Teri chahte..Khwahhishe Milne ki tumse roz hoti hai nayi mere dil ki jeet meri maat ban gayi.. I’m ghayal completely.. CERTIFIED MUST LISTEN

I Am In Love (Dance Mix) Dominique & KK – now I wonder why they had to come out with a 3rd version of this song 🙄 no I mean seriously c’mon we already have a KK and Karthik version why another Dance version.. Sigh..!! This one’s CERTIFIED MISSABLE

Overall the album is good for those 4-5 songs and hence 4/5 cos Raahat Bhai Mohit and Karthik (exactly in that order) are more than enough to keep me mesmerized with this one 😀

So guy’s u must definitely listen to those MUST LISTENS mentioned out there.. And yes I’m definitely looking forward to this movie 😀

That’s it from Megzone for now..!!

Keep Smiling..!! Keep Rocking..!! Keep Blogging..!!!

Cheerios..!! :mrgreen:

21 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time In Mumbaaii..

  1. RoH says:

    Megsss is back with yet another fantastic music review 😀 yaayy 😀
    //Cos its Raahat bhai I don’t need any further reasons to fall in love with this song.. // I soooo love his voice 😀
    //If you have liked tapori songs of Munnabhai and Shootout at Lokhandwala you are sure to like this…// yooo… me likess 😀 😀
    I am gonna download these songs this weekend!!! no matter what!! 😀

    • eeeee 😀 thankss roh 😀

      / I soooo love his voice /
      same pinch 😀 😛

      /I am gonna download these songs this weekend!!! no matter what!!/yes please fast cos I hve another review ready for u to download 😛

  2. cool………..how many posts and day did it take to write again about movies….. ???????

    i love the music of this movie…….aaahhh Peeloon is just awesome…..takes to different level…….when you hear it…..Mohit….masti Chauhan

    • oiii you urself knew there were so many tags and obv BPL from where do i find the time to write movies.. though this happened to be my first love 😦
      soch maine ab kaafi mahino se book review nai maari 😦

      /i love the music of this movie…….aaahhh Peeloon is just awesome…..takes to different level…….when you hear it…..Mohit….masti Chauhan/
      yeshhhh…completely agree with you.. even the Raahat song is goooddddd 😀

  3. vivek singh says:

    i never miss ur reviews, u must write for papers, they come up with such outlandish n boring ones..
    u have a good pair of ears, i never fail to identify the singers, have good recognition power but lyrics!! am bad, very bad!
    n yes! mohit n rahat saab, awesome singers.. very fine n very talented..
    waiting for more!
    pee loon n tum jo aaye seriously the best in the lot

    • aaahhhh… ur being sweet Vivvy 😀

      /u must write for papers, they come up with such outlandish n boring ones../
      wwooowww.. i take that as a super compliment 😀
      sigghhh…!! if only someone wud take me 😦

      /u have a good pair of ears,/
      lol 😀 thankkiiee :D:D:D:D:D:D:

      /n yes! mohit n rahat saab, awesome singers.. very fine n very talented../
      same pinch 😀

      /pee loon n tum jo aaye seriously the best in the lot/
      verryy triueee 😀

Leave a Reply

