~::~ [Book Review] ~ Bankster ~::~


There are some authors whose first book grips you enough to want to go back and read them again & again (the authors I mean). It’s the same for me when it comes to Ravi Subramanian. I have read 3 out of the 4 Banker books that he has written and luckily for me I have reviewed them all 😀 (Well am an optimist so I already included this one to the list 😉 ) Unfortunately for me Incredible Banker was one book that I couldn’t lay my hands on, the book was released when I was in UK and when I got back I couldn’t get myself to grab a copy. But surely I will read that too and knowing myself well, I might just review the book couple of years after its release 🙂

The best thing like about Ravi Sir’s works is they are is not just that it’s about Banking and gives you an insight on all the things that can go wrong/ scams in a bank but often there is always 1-2 characters that you can always relate to. I could relate myself to Swami in “If God Was a Banker” and always hoped I too would someday have a mentor to help me shape my career. When I read “Devil in Pinstripes” I could relate to the corporate politics that were depicted. Unfortunately I dint get a chance to read the Incredible Banker but back again here with “Bankster” I can’t say I could relate to a specific character but if I could I would have pretty much liked to be “Karan Panjabi” and be the one to tie up all the loose ends 😀 Ok No! am not going to give out any spoilers. There could be some Late-lateefs out there like me who take their own sweet time to read and review the books.

Banks have always known to be secretive and with innumerable policies and processes. A scam in a Bank can be well hidden and under wraps. You might never even know what hit you. I loved the narration style; 3 cities, a series of murders, 3 stories narrated parallel, with the only common thread being the current affairs involving a bank, couple of murders thrown in with a whole lot of twists and turns. The book can keep you hooked on to it especially if you are a thriller lover. Some sections seemed a little too filmy if I may say so but then if that’s what makes a book good so be it 😀 Who cares!! We all love watching movies and we all love reading books. If some authors can get away with being sleazy in books a teensy bit of filmy effect in books caused no one any harm. We have seen books been made into movies and am sure if this one was ever made into one its definitely going to be a top grosser 😀

As always Ravi Subramanian happens to be one of those authors whose books I would definitely read and add it to my book collection and this one goes straight in! 🙂

Lastly thank you BlogAdda team for the opportunity to review and unfortunately I am extremely sorry for the delayed review. 😥

This review is a part of the Book Reviews Program at BlogAdda.com . Participate now to get free books!

One thought on “~::~ [Book Review] ~ Bankster ~::~

  1. kan2009goa@gmail.com says:

    A good and exhaustive review !!!

    I will buy the book for reading and for collection too….

    Narasimhan Krishnan
    Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone from !DEA

Leave a Reply

