~::~ [A-Z Challenge] ~ Voices ~::~


Day 22 A-Z Challenge, V = Voices (Free Verse)

~::~ Voices ~::~

Yearning

I am a free bird, set me a’free

But I hear voices all around me

 

Catch her

Smash her

Bring her down

Control her

Crush her

Make her drown

 

Breaking away from this cacophony

And yet I hear voices all around me

 

Breaking chains

Ears strain

Searching for relief

Narrow lanes

Pounding veins

Hiding like a thief

 

Cowering in shadows like an escapee

I worry about the voices all around me

 

Choices prime

Happiness sublime

But they don’t approve

Everything’s crime

Stuck in slime

My worth I must prove

 

I am a free bird, please set me a’free

Alas! I still hear voices all around me

~::~::~::~::~::~

Picture Courtesy  – Google, Keywords =  Voices

Leave a Reply

