~::~ [A-Z Challenge] ~ Wrapped Refrain ~::~


Day 23, W = Wrapped Refrain

The Wrapped Refrain, created by Jan Turner, consists of 2 or more stanzas of 6 lines each; Meter: 8,8,8,8,12,12 and Rhyme Scheme: a,a,b,b,c,c.
Refrain rule: In each stanza the first 4 syllables (or 4 single-syllable words) in the first line must be the last 4 syllables (or 4 single-syllable words) at the end of the last line. This is what wraps each stanza with a repeated refrain …thus, the Wrapped Refrain.
Optional: The first stanza refrain and last stanza refrain can be joined (or looselyjoined) together for the title of the poem.

For more info, please check Shadow Poetry

~::~ Broken Dreams ~::~

moonlight_lge

Staggering through, dark silent nights

Persisting ‘til fate reunites

Trundling low with my broken dreams

My heart echoes my muted screams

Biding time awaiting amorous rendezvous

Many decades I’ve transpired whilst staggering through

 

I’ve walked alone, through pale moonlights

Enduring fate’s unrighteous smites

Existence bursting at its seams

I trudge along till hope redeems

In wilds I loiter until Destiny atones

Through these pallid gossamer paths, I’ve walked alone

~::~::~::~::~::~

 

I hope you liked the poem, please leave your comments, feedback and brickbats

Picture Courtesy –  Josephine

Leave a comment