Thursday Poets Rally ~::~ Footboard Traveller ~::~


Yaaayyy… Jingle’s back with the rally πŸ™‚ and I am super excited about it as usual πŸ˜€

if you are serious about poetry and wouldnt mind dedicating a day to poetry and meet more poets and read lots of varied poetry and bask in their creativity Jingle’s Rally is where you should be πŸ™‚

For more info check out

http://jingleyanqiu.wordpress.com/2010/06/30/thursday-poets-rally-week-24-july-1-7-2010/

And sweet that Jingle is she takes in anyone and everyone…

This time i am super-excited cos i am trying my hand at something different.. no this is not a new form of poetry but rather a complete different genre that i am trying…

so i hope you guys like it πŸ™‚

Here it goes πŸ˜€

~~~~~

~::~ Footboard traveller ~::~


People think I am a freak

Wondering what chaos I shall wreak

Seeing me they want to gag

Just cos I am dressed in rag

Shamelessly begging for alms

Cupping my blistered palms

Destitute, I have no home

Throughout the day I roam

Western, central and harbor line

But when I board people whine

I sit there staring at passing sights

Sunset, sunrise and dim street lights

Mountains, bridges, concrete jungles

Pass by, as a prayer my lip burbles

Alone I look for a place to rest and sleep

Full with crowds and fests, slowly my feet creep

Full of suspicion, characteristic dereliction

Life has been nothing but a malediction

Tirade and anger seething in every heart

Almighty resides in the fancy trinket mart

Going gets tough but seldom do I look askance

Survival is my goal, paltry is my chance

Don’t know where I started

My life seems thwarted

Don’t know where this would end

Striving for a livelihood, I defend

No I am not a propitious reveler

Rather just a footboard traveler

~~~

I hope you liked my experimentation.. Do let me know your thoughts…!!

Thats it from Megzone for now..

Keep Smiling…!! Keep Rocking..!! Keep Blogging..!!

Cheerios..!!! :mrgreen:

80 thoughts on “Thursday Poets Rally ~::~ Footboard Traveller ~::~

  1. RoH says:

    oh!!!What a poem!!! Completely different Megssiee πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I am really amazed at the way you have rhymed it πŸ™‚
    Gives a perfect picture of a nomadic life… Do keep experimenting πŸ™‚

    • eehhhh….thaankkiiee ROh πŸ˜€
      m glad you liked it..
      this was jus an experiment i was trying.. actually train la i travel at the footboard and i wud rather call myself a footboard traveller.. thats wen this idea struck me that i can actually write abt those who really are destitutes πŸ˜€
      thankiieee πŸ˜€

  2. wow this is truly awesome!!! and this is just an experiment??? you’ve done well… the rhymes were so smooth and the depiction was perfect. you are an amazing poet. πŸ™‚

  3. u have picked up the agony of a beggar superb and u have also put mumbai as a character!!!
    good, the experiment works good megz!!!
    i don’t know how much time will it take for me to come up with something like this!!!
    keep rhyming..
    keep rocking!!! πŸ™‚

  4. Meghana!!
    that was perfect!!

    the rhyming pattern added such an addictive charm to the poem!
    AND
    the subject of the poem is a bit unique, and gets really impressive!
    (:

  5. Meghana, this was wonderful!! I hail from the good ol’ beautiful Bombay myself (I still prefer calling it that), and TOTALLY get the poem…
    The beggars, the street urchins, the destitute… the ones we despise, loathe and shoo away at lights… sitting in our cars, behind all that false glory, we fail to realize that they too are humans.. but rather than show them a better way to live, we choose to squander our chance at being something, and instead continue in our almost-nothingness mode…
    You really have beautifully brought out the mind of the homeless wanderer via your post! EXCELLENT!

    • wwoooww.. Kavi where in mumbai πŸ˜€
      good to see you here πŸ˜€

      and yes i realised that offlate how we do not even acknowledge their presence in our world 😳
      esp the kids 😦

      thanks for writing in dear.. its great to know there are poets from mumbai in the rally too.. πŸ˜€
      m sure it wud be great knowing you πŸ˜€

      • Indeed! Those little kids selling stuff at each light, fighting each other just for a morsel of food, having to act/sing/make themselves be laughed at… only for the few rupees just enough to buy them almost nothing.. very saddening

        And yes, it’s very nice to see participants from Bombay!!! Yippeee!! I hail from the land of darkness …umm.. Andheri, I mean πŸ˜‰

        Already looking forward to reading more from you..
        Hugs!!

  6. Poems like this are filled with compassion and brings to light those we chose to pass by in life and never give a second thought —

    A powerful poem and thought provoking to thinking about our brothers and sisters who are invisible and in need.

    If this is a new style for you — you do it so well —keep on writing…. beautiful really.

    Joanny

  7. dustus says:

    Meg, your work is phenomenal and you always amaze me. So many rhymes throughout this are ridiculously amazing!

    • Ellyyyy…. good to see you here πŸ™‚
      thank you sooooooooooooo much πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
      m glad you liked it πŸ˜€

  8. I just stood up and then bowed to thee.

    I never realized there was such talent around me. This is extraordinary.

    To craft such beauty for a footboard traveler. As an Indian, I can connect with your poem and the empathy you show.

    I’m proud to have read this! I’ve just become a permanent “RSS” reader of your works.

    • aawww…keshav you are just beeing to generous with word and too kind πŸ™‚
      im still learning the ropes of poetry.. theres is still more to experiment and work on

  9. letting you know I am getting your poem to my file so that it appears on Promising Poets Parking Lot…

    I will post text only, and with your blog name, general blog link included.
    Thank you for the contribution!
    πŸ™‚

  10. Hey just stumbled across your blog and was mighty impressed, i really appreciate your writing style and I am looking to feature good writers on my blog,If you are curious maybe drop in sometime

  11. heyyyy ….. this is super awesome …i loved it…… it realizes me how lucky i am … beautiful it is .. !

    u r a genius i tell you .. i wish someday i could write as good as you dp .. !

    i misss taking part in the rallyy… 😦

    • heyyy Viddhi.. gal you write awesome poem.. the one u wrote for ur granpa touched me completely πŸ™‚
      so lemme tell u.. u are an awesome poetess urself πŸ˜€

  12. This was a lovely description that casts the Footboard Traveler in a different light. It definitely reminds me to count my blessings and be just a little more understanding. Thank you.

  13. Wow, I love the form of this poem, being written in all rhyming couplets. I am also a believer in not limiting yourself, working outside your comfort zone. I’d love to know what you think of my work, as I found this poem really inspiring. I am working on a little experiment of my own entitled “A Lingual Portrait of the Human Body In Parts”. You can check it out cactusflowerpoetry.wordpress.com

    • heyyy thank you dear πŸ™‚
      that was really sweet of you.. yes moving out of the comfort zone is definitely a challenge you set urself up for πŸ™‚
      and yes i am on my way to check your blog too πŸ˜€

  14. I’m not for rhyming poems much but yours I very much enjoyed especially the subject and title- Footboard Traveler.
    Thank you for the comment on my poem. Do it! Dance barefoot the next full Moon. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment