~::~ GoodBye.. ~::~


This post has been published by me as a part of the Blog-a-Ton 13; the thirteenth edition of the online marathon of Bloggers; where we decide and we write. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton.

~::~ Goodbye~::~


Cloudy Dark rainy night

Lonely Star twinkled bright

Caressing zephyr unfurls my mind

In retrospect thoughts unwind

Moments spent together

Talking nonsense, even weather

Sipping tea having fun

Laughing over our lil puns

Rain drenched, jumping puddles

Thunder & lightening made us huddle

Movies, music, senseless jabber

These memories make it even harder

To accept brutal truth’s throes

Harsh reality that life bestows

My feelings I could never convey

One murky night you passed away

Tears always brim my eyes

I never got to say goodbye

The fellow Blog-a-Tonics who took part in this Blog-a-Ton and links to their respective posts can be checked here. To be part of the next edition, visit and start following Blog-a-Ton.

*Note –  This poem is dedicated to a dear friend and colleague who was my partner in crime all the time that I spent in Reliance -DAKC.. He suffered from throat cancer which he never realised and when they did diagnose it was too late to cure.. I never went to meet him at the hospital as I knew I couldnt stand him bedridden with all those tubes thru his body and I knew I would break down… Which he definitely wouldnt approve of… He was the closest buddy I have ever had.. I still feel guilty for not having met him.. and I hope he forgives me…  where ever he is 😥

You will always be missed buddy 😥 and no one I believe can ever take your place pal.. I miss you 😦

62 thoughts on “~::~ GoodBye.. ~::~

  1. Aah the end of the poem tugs at my heart. Why should Goodbyes be so sad always? But they are..most of the time! Saying it is as difficult as not getting to say it..:((
    Lovely poem again Megz.
    ATB for BAT13

    • aawww..thanks Vibzy..
      this is actually dedicated to a dear friend whom i lost to throat cancer 😦
      i never went to meet him in the hospital cos i knew i wud cry my heart out and he wudnt see me cry 😥
      and i still feel guilty that i never went to meet him 😥

  2. I could really feel the ripples in my heart… beautifully concluded.

    And as always, Our sweetest songs are those that tell of saddest thought.

    Loved the poem.

  3. aww.. thats so sad.. may his soul rest in peace.

    your poetic piece is very well written Megz, the comparisons are well done..

    all the best for BATOM..

  4. aww.. thats so sad.. may his soul rest in peace.

    ur poetic piece is well written Megz, the comparisons are beautiful..

    all the best for BATOM.

  5. Beautifully written Megzz!! Very touching…
    The emotions are evident in every word…
    May you have the strength to bear the loss of a dear buddy!!

    ATB for BAT 13!! 🙂

    PS: Coincidentally, I was reading your post when I got your comment on mine.. Yes, it is a Loop Poem as you have understood it. Thank you!! 😀

    • wow.. watta coincidence Rums 😀
      well its been 5yrs now 😐 and so m gettin along with the loss 🙂
      and ur loop poem was awesome 😀
      all the best to you too dear :

    • aaingg office ki tarah yaha bhi wordpress khaa gaya comment :O
      hadh hai… 😡

      haan yaar.. aaj tho poore dil se likh di..
      5 saal ho gaye.. yaad aagayi likh di uspe

    • thank you dear dreamer.. i am honoured to have such lovely comments from you and the others..
      this was jus a teeny weeny attempt at washing away my guilt 😦

  6. lovely poem…i just lost my best friend to cancer…and i never got to say goodbye…so i know exactly what it means…u touched my heart deep…

  7. i almost had tears in my eyes Megs… a very dear frnd and a colleague of mine died in a road accident and i never got to know till 2 days later… got to know only when her team mated came back after the funeral… so i know how it feels not saying goodbye….

    keep emotions aside, it was a very well written poem… u have my vote buddy… all the best 🙂

    • awwww…thanks Tavs 🙂
      that was sweet of u…
      ya it pains wen u say goodbye and it pains double wen u dont get to say 😥
      but the pain remains nonetheles…
      May her soul RIP buddy…

  8. Lovely poem, it really touched my heart. You are a very sensitive poet Megz. At my age one has seen death, and all I can say is that your friend, wherever he is, understands. The heart and soul know. ATB

  9. This was a beautiful tribute to your friend, Megz!
    I am very sorry for your loss… but then again, the lovely time you spent with your friend are the ones that you would want to remember them by… and I think that’s awesome!

    Keep up the good work, girlie…
    (loadsa love)

  10. So loved your poem. Know what, unlike most poems I could make complete sense out of it. Its simple, sensitive and touching. Your friend should be a lucky one to have someone writing poems. Verry nice.

  11. i would have surely voted for ur post were i eligible this time..
    each word so lucid, so true, emotions still raw, i could feel it..
    its 5 long years megz but i know some wounds never heal, some memories never fade and i guess they never should!
    i just pray to god that our loved ones stay good for ever, wherever they stay..
    am proud of u meghana n i just love ur poems..

  12. best wishes for batom 13 dear, its very fantastic..
    and i donot say this coz its a sad poem full of emotions but it coz it truly deserves to be..one of the finest from u..
    i have never lost a frnd but somehow i could feel the intensity of words, behind every word that is and ur feelings!
    god bless u 🙂

    • i knw wat u mean.. and khuda na kare anyone loses their closest buddy…
      let everyone be happy in life.. jo huaa mere saath jaane do..
      i had the strength to bear it and still am bearing it..

  13. I am pretty sure your friend would have forgiven you for not visiting. You brought a tear to my eye with that note. May your friend’s soul rest in peace.

    All the best for the BAT 🙂

  14. 😦 This is a beautiful way to say goodbye to ur best buddy! I am sure he understands ur absence…but with this he would be convinced that u too were indeed best pals!

    The poem had a nice flow ..and the words were well chosen…they conveyed ur thoughts so lucidly!

    All the very best for BAT!!!

    • thanks Mayur..
      it wasnt a beautiful way to say goodbye.. it was a repentant ode to a dear friend who passed away 5yrs back and the guilt on my conscience still lives..
      i can only hope he forgives me..

      thanks for the wishes.. all the best to you too

Leave a comment